#thedarkthymes

After completing a life writing class in University, I’ve had this idea… this dream… of giving people, especially those who belong to the minority, a platform to express themselves; the minority is defined as people who are easily belittled, mistreated, or discriminated against due to visible characteristics that seemingly limit his/her ability and potential for growth. I strongly believe that everyone, regardless of what “social barriers” set them apart from the majority of the people in the society (aka the hegemonic discourse), deserve the opportunity to be seen… to heard…. to exercise his/her right to the freedom of speech… So this is why I begun to collect non-fictional stories from individuals that are, or have been, neglected, oppressed , exploited, and/or victimized by the hegemonic discourse.However, after careful consideration and, out of respect for people who are hesitant to share humiliating or traumatizing experiences, I have chosen to redirect the focus of my passion project to highlight success stories from an alternative perspective: one of an athlete [more specifically beginning with ball players beeecause #ballislife]. I will be keeping the name of the silhouette series, “#thedarkthymes,” as well as its initial purpose: to bring to light experiences that drive and motivate people to be resilient and persevere. 

By reading these experiences, what I hope to accomplish is threefold + ☝️: 

1 – to learn

2 – to understand

3 – to relate

4 – to inspire

Weekly, on the gram, I will be showcasing  a silhouette of an athlete…or three. The series of stories itself will be available on my medium. There you will also find additional photos of the athletes in action.This series is also, evidently, a play on words. Not only does “thyme” represent “time,” but it alludes to the medicinal aspect of the herb itself; I hope that, through discussion, each muse  can further appreciate the demanding regimen that athletes usually struggle with. I hope that the experiences of other athletes will contribute to your own motivation as you continue to drive towards excellence.If you or anyone you know is interested in contributing to my passion project, feel free to let me know!🌹I’m alllways looking for new muses🙏✨

4 thoughts on “#thedarkthymes

  1. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the
    long run and it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this submit and if I could I desire to recommend you some attention-grabbing things
    or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring
    to this article. I wish to read more things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

